How many of us have been or are Drivers

Discussion in 'Big Rigs' started by rocknbronco, Mar 2, 2006.

1. big94GMC

big94GMC Well-Known Member

Got my Class A when I was 18, and drove for a while. Drove a little bit this summer after I'd gotten outta the Navy. I think I'll go OTR again in a couple decades when I'm in retirement.

2. DWitcher

DWitcher Well-Known Member

I need some advise guy's. I've been working on trucks full time since 1989 when working on the was (kinda) fun. Now it's just a PITA with all of the electronics. Not only are we techs on the mechanical side but now we have to, and have become electronic techs. Needless to say I'm DONE! I have friends/customers that run end and belly dumps and seem to be doing pretty good at it. Now I want to give it a try. I'm gonna get my CDL and start looking for some older but not junk equipment. I won't mind working on them. Maybe buy a couple of trucks and hire another driver once the ball gets rolling. Any word from the wise would be greatwaytogo. Thanks, David.

3. Super Trucker

Super Trucker Well-Known Member

Jusr remember if things slow down you don't have unenployment insurance. If you get hurt no money. The construction end has slowed down from 5 years ago. You could make as much or more driving for a union company. The only good thing with owning your own truck is you're your own boss.

4. whiterocket5.9

whiterocket5.9 Well-Known Member

ive drove a few different dump trucks (borrowed trucks from friends) over the last 10 years or so for our construction biz nothing huge only single axles never have gottin a cdl. not really a trucker my self but my grandpa owned a truck stop for about 20 years (greenville illinois)and mom and dad ran the resturant at a another truckstop (springfield illinois) for around 6 yrs or so. maybe soem of yall have been to one or the other, seen a bunch of different types of rigs at those places not to mention some of the characters...ive seen all kinds

5. WI PLOWBOY