19.5" tires on a Ram3500

Discussion in 'Tires | Wheels' started by Keith, Aug 5, 2010.

1. Keith

Keith Member

I am studying the question of what kind of RV-hauler to get. I was told by a big Dodge dealership that a Ram 3500 (DRW) can have a GCVR of 25,400# which is only 600# short of what you get with the 4500.
    It is lighter than the 4500, however, which means that there is slightly more towing capacity with the 3500 than with the 4500.
    But I also liked the better braking that you get with the bigger tires on the 4500. It has the 225/70R19.5F tires. (The Ram 3500 comes with LT265/70R17E tires.)
    So I asked if one could buy the 3500 with 19.5" tires, and the dealer said he had never heard of it being done at the factory.
    Is there any reason *not* to drive the Ram 3500 with the 19.5 tires?
    It doesn't seem like this is an option that Dodge wants you to consider, since it is not found on their "Build yourself a truck" website.
    Keith

Last edited: Aug 5, 2010
  2. morbius

morbius New Member

Many folks on various forums are running 19.5 wheels on their 3500's. I am looking at getting them myself. Here is one place that sells the complete setup and fits the 8 lug hubs without adapters ...

http://www.ricksontruckwheels.com

Hope that helps.

3. Keith

Keith Member

Thanks For your information and recommendation. It's all still new information for me. I appreciate your service.
    I was wondering what people do when they know from the beginning that they don't want the 10-ply LT tires. Do they do the upgrade and sell the original tires and wheels on EBay or Craigslist? It sounds like a lot of unwanted work to me!
    Keith

4. morbius

morbius New Member

That is pretty much it. Yes it is a lot of extra work and a pain. With all the hauling that goes on with 3500's, you think there would be a factory option for 19.5 w/8 lugs ..... Go figure.