6.2 engine light?

Discussion in 'GM Diesel 6.2' started by soupy, Feb 23, 2006.

1. soupy

soupy Member

First off great forum I found it when researching trailer options. I found this section of the forum so I thought I would throw this question out.

I have a 92 Chevy 2500 (6lug) 6.2 diesel and the engine light keeps coming on. It does it no matter if it is warm or cold. But if I rev up the engine it will go off for a minute then come right back on. A friend of mine said that with this engine he thought the engine light only pertained to the transmission. I believed him for awhile (I'm no mechanic) because it would go off if I wined through the gears, but this was before I realized it also went out if I rev the engine in neutral or punch the gas in drive.

I asked the guys at AutoZone if they could test it but they said only if the light stayed on all the time. The guys admitted they had no idea but suggested maybe oil pressure. It has oil and the pressure reads fine on the gages.

The light is on more then not. Any ideas what I can look at? This has been going on for a year now. Several months ago I was hearing a ticking noise coming from the vacuum pump. I parked the truck over the winter (it's a summer work truck) thinking I would replace the pump soon but I have been driving it for a few weeks and it has not made the ticking noise again. I'm thinking the pump was seized up and miracle unseized. So part of me is thinking the warning light was telling me all along I had a vacuum pump going bad, even though it started making noise long after and has stopped making noise.

This truck is city driven at low speeds stopping and going pulling a small landscape trailer with a 3,000 lb GTW. Just pulls mowers around in town so it does not get opened up on the highways.

Sorry for the long post, I just wanted to include as much info as I could to give a clear picture.

Thanks a bunch,
    Soupy

2. u2slow

u2slow Member

What transmission do you have? TH700?