GVW and the real world?'s

Discussion in 'Trailers' started by racer55, Jan 10, 2011.

1. racer55

racer55 Member

Hi folks
    I am very new to towing and wondered if the people in the know would be kind enough to explain the weight limits and the like as well as DOT rules in Canada or the US.

I Checked my door placard and my vin,it seems my gvw is 11,000 lbs,how does this translate to real worls #'s?

I have yet to learn what the vehicle weights or combination of vehicle weights mean in the real world as far as laws go and hope to get educated here.

At present I only have a class G drivers licence that limits me to a 22,000 lbs vehicle or comination of vehicles with a max trailer weight of 10,120 lbs.
    In metric thats 11,000 kg's total or 4600kg's trailer weight.

My question is since my gvw is nearly the same as my max trailer weight with my current licence can I leagally only weight 11,000lbs total?

I have also been told that there is a law that when towing a gn or 5ver that a portion of the trailers weight gets transferred to the truck?What percentage of trailer weight gets tranferred?

How does the registered weight come in to play as far as licencing the trucks go?

I am sure that there is a lot of highway traffic act laws involved here that are not common knowledge but any help in understanding the rules would be appreciated.

The questions I am asking may be clear as mud so please correct anything that doesn't make sence since I am asking about something I have no understanding of.

2. transamz9

transamz9 Member

Anyone???????

3. racer55

racer55 Member

I borrowed this reply from privatepilot over @ Diesel Place:

Ok, lets go.. I'll preface my response by saying that the information I'm giving is valid in Ontario only. Most other juristictions follow similar guidelines, but some US states especially may have RV relatex exclusions, Farm exclusions, or non-commercial exclusions such that may not make the information directly transferable.

Quote: