Receiver Question!

Discussion in 'Towing Equipment' started by diesel250, Jun 24, 2005.

1. diesel250

diesel250 Member

Im new to towing and I looked at the stock hitch and it can only tow 5,000 Gross Trailer Weight carrying. I am looking for a reciever to be able to handle a 12,000 Lbs. trailer weight carrying for a 2005 Ford F-350 to tow a dump trailer. Is there one out there? Thanks for your help.

2. RJF's Red Cummins

RJF's Red Cummins TRC Staff Moderator

Media:
    Albums:
    Um, I may be wrong here but are you sure that doesn't mean tongue weight? The stock reciever on a 2005 F350 should be able to pull WAY more than 5K. It's probably more like 15K. You should be fine with the stock reciever pulling a trailer that weighs 12.5K

3. Shaggy

Shaggy TRC Staff Moderator

Media:
    Albums:
    ALmost all hitches are rated for 5k or so unless you use a WD setup. My '05 F-350 has the 2.5" hitch, it's rated for 5k without and 15k with a WD system.

4. FordCummins1

FordCummins1 Well-Known Member

Media:
    Id look into something like the Reese Titan hitch, which is very similar to the 2.5" Ford receiver Shaggy described. It is very HD, and rated for 12k as a weight CARRYING hitch, so no WD setup is needed.

5. Burt4x4

Burt4x4 Well-Known Member

Media:
    I put the Titan Class V 2.5" on my Silverado and it is VERY HD! Fn Sweet! I love all that steel BEEF!
    I did buy a WD setup (Reese Straight-Line) but I am not using it until I get a slide in camper. My maiden voyage was awsome with the Reese Titan keeping me connected to my trailer waytogo

6. Brisk

Brisk Well-Known Member

Media: