Which Generation of cummins for Most Power

Discussion in 'Dodge 3rd Gen Cummins 5.9 (24v)' started by thebird00, Sep 30, 2008.

1. thebird00

thebird00 Member

I'm looking to do a cummins swap into an 87 or so chevy truck eventually. I'm trying to figure out which generation of cummins I should be looking for. I'm sure the newer ones would be harder to swap with the wiring an all.

What kind of bottom end work needs to be done to put up big numbers. I'm new to the diesel game. Are compond turbos worth it? I guess I'm looking for a parts list to make big power. It'll be a daily driver with light towing. Can I do both with a power range of 600hp and 1100 ft/lbs of torque?

Thanks for any info,
    Mark

2. Rob Knoell

Rob Knoell Well-Known Member

I think that you can have both a daily driver and light tow rig with 600 hp and 1100 ft/lbs tq. I think that I would be looking at a 12 valve motor. Reasons are: First, wiring as you already discussed. Second, the 12 valve motor is going to be hard to beat as far as the bottom end goes. Third, price. I think that you will be able to not only source a 12 valve easier but, it would also be cheaper in the long run for your swap. Compound turbos will be the way to go for both a daily driver and tow rig. The reason is because you will be able to have the boost available soon after you get your load going and you will also have larger boost numbers for when you are wanting to show off a little. But, they are expensive, so get a loan out or save up. You did not mention if this was going to be a 4x4 or a two wheel drive. It will make a difference when it comes to oil pan clearence and front drive line life. 1/2 or 3/4 ton will not live long under that much torque.

LT.

3. thebird00

thebird00 Member