Why no limited slip rear axle on my truck?

Discussion in 'GM Duramax 6.6 (LB7)' started by Tom Seeley, Apr 6, 2005.

1. Tom Seeley

Tom Seeley Member

I just bought my first new used truck. A 2002 GMC Sierra 2500HD crew cab 4x4 duramax/ally. I found it by sheer luck at a dealer while browsing an ext cab model I really wasn't interested in. After having it inspected, and all the usual stuff one does with a used rig, I bought it.

After I drove it home I deciphered the list of RPO codes in the glove compartment, and only then found that the truck LACKS code G80, "axle positraction limited slip". :eek: In my online shopping for a truck, I had decided that was an option I wanted, but I seriously doubt that I would have turned down the truck once I found it just because it lacked that feature.

My question is: in a truck equipped such as mine is, is it logical for it NOT to include the limited slip rear axle? I'm no truck expert at all. Is there something in the combination of diesel, allison, and 4x4, for example, that makes it unnecessary to ALSO include the limited slip rear axle? I guess, finally, my question is, since I plan to tow a travel trailer about 25% of the time, do I really need it after all?

2. PermanentMarker

PermanentMarker TRC Staff Moderator

Media:
    Kinda odd for it not to hacve it, probably means it was a special order since the factory usually lumps it in with the Diesel package.

If you're always on the road or fire road type stuff, you'll probably never notice.

Marc

3. BadDog

BadDog TRC Staff Staff Member

Media:
    G80 is not really a "limited slip" but rather a positive "locker" that comes in and out when needed (hopefully). Also known as a "gov-lock", it's much like a spool when engaged, acts like open otherwise.