Dually Wheel Spacers...Good or Bad?

Discussion in 'Tires | Wheels' started by Beakers3500Ram, Oct 4, 2008.

1. Beakers3500Ram

Beakers3500Ram New Member

I've seen a few dually trucks running taller and wider tires. I really like the look but I know in order to get the wider tires on my skinny 17x6 rims I'd have to run wheel spacers. Wouldn't they put more stress on the whell hubs/lug nut studs? How safe are they to use? I've already replaced the stock 235/85R17 tires with some 265/70's but in order to go taller and wider to get the look I eventually want I don't see any other option. I've done some internet research and it seems no one makes dually rims that aren't skinny 6 or 6.5's. Can anyone shed some light on this subject for me?
    Thanks!

2. Rob Knoell

Rob Knoell Well-Known Member

I have been running wheel spacers on my rig now for nine months and have put about 11,000 miles on them. I have had no issues or problems with them. The only complaint that I have with them is when I am needing to cross through a mud puddle. Because of the spacers I throw mud all over the rear dually covers and anything else I may be towing. I think that my rig handles loads a little better because of all the rubber I now have on the road. For instance; A few months ago I was hauling my race car trailer back from Salt Lake City, Utah and was going a little bit too fast for the trailer. The trailer started to sway back and forth. But, because of the wider tires and the spacers it did not bother the truck. It was very easy just to reach under the dash and hit the trailer brakes to get the trailer back inline with the truck. The trailer sway did not move the rear of the truck around at all, not even one inch. Steady as a rock. Another thing to consider is weather or not you tow goose neck trailers. I installed 315's on my rig with just a two inch taller front spring. This puts the rear of the truck up about two inches as well, due to the taller tire. The neck of the trailer that I